The Four Step At Home Facial

A few years ago, I went completely green, but I really loved going to the spa. Still do! Back then, I researched hard and found the easiest, fastest, and cheapest way to have an “at home” spa day. One of those steps was a facial. I waited until my little ones were in bed, brewed me a cup of calming tea, and spent a little time on beauty. I’m purposing to get back to that, because it is so very good for the mind and body! Here are the four steps that I did and will be doing again soon!

Cleanse-Scrub with baking soda, a natural cleanser, glycerin soap, or whatever you use on your skin at night.

Steam-Use the “towel for a tent” method of steaming your face, for about 5 minutes or as much as you can stand. Add essential oil or herbs to the water as needed. IE. Comfrey for bad acne, lavender e.o., lavender herbs, rose petals, etc. You’ll have to investigate what herbs are good for the skin and for your particular skin. I used plain water, lavender herbs, or a Tablespoon of comfrey herb.

Clay Mask-I mix up a clay mask each time while I wait for water to boil. I use a Tablespoon of bentonite clay, a teaspoon of raw honey, and a teaspoon of liquid of some sort (milk, water, apple juice, apple cider vinegar). The different liquid had different properties, but I especially loved the milk. I also add a few drops of grapeseed oil, but coconut or olive would work just as well. This mixture is enough for one application, which means you don’t have to store it or use it before it goes bad, etc. (Simple.) When the mask has dried, 30-45 minutes, I clean it off using a hot-as-I-can-stand washcloth.

Moisturize-I use grapeseed oil, but you can use olive, castor, or coconut oils. I use a small amount, massage it into the face, and let it soak into the skin. (Do not wash it off.) The different oils are for different skin types, so work with what seems best for your skin. Mine is oily and acne prone, so I use a light oil.

Spending some time relaxing is super good for you, and doing it for pennies is also good for your wallet! Let me know if you enjoyed an at home facial using my method!!!

One thought on “The Four Step At Home Facial

Leave a Reply

