Vintage Lovelies

One person’s influence: As a mom, and a wife, and a daughter to the best two parents ever, I’ve been pondering lately what it means to influence someone. It’s a quiet thing, not something you shout from the rooftops. But like water, you make your way, and you swirl around, move together, move in and out of sync. There are many wonderful quilters who’ve moved me towards a much more skilled sewista. I am forever in their debt. And then there are people I think I may have taught something, tho it remains to be seen what!!

My mother (the best one ever, remember?), made this when I was a baby. She told me it was supposed to have a Noah’s Ark scene in it…..Naaah. I like it exactly the way it is! And it explains my love of simple lined quilting and squares. It was on my bed for part of my childhood, and then it got used as a picnic quilt. May I just say, it’s machine quilted AND machine bound. My mom was quilting by machine before it was cool. Way to go, Mom!

Leave a Reply

