Cloth Napkins

I spent the afternoon in my sewing room, whipping up some cloth napkins for my family. There are MANY good tutorials out there for making reversible cloth napkins.

Image

I cut my squares at 12.5 inches, paired them right sides together, and sewed around the edges, leaving a 3 inch wide gap in the stitching. I clipped the corners carefully before I turned the napkins right side out. I ironed them flat, then used a topstitch about an eighth of a inch from the edge. This reinforces the seams  and closes the opening you left for turning! Add some decorative stitches around the edge if your machine has them, and VOILA!

Image

Why use cloth napkins?

It’s better for your wallet.

It’s better for the environment.

It teaches the children to cherish the everyday meal.

It took all afternoon to make these six napkins, but I see more of them in my future!

What are you sewing these days?

Leave a Reply

