A Merry Heart

“A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth up the bones.” Proverbs 17:22

flower

I have this aunt. She’s made a habit every day of sending short messages to several of us in the family.

{Yes, it really is quite wonderful!}

This morning’s message was about a merry heart.

She used a different Scripture, but it got me thinking about joy, again.

JOY is my word of the year for 2015, and so it resonates with me.

flower2

I’d like to share what I’m learning about joy. These may seem basic, but they are huge to me!

First, joy is a choice. It’s not all about things going well.

Second, you can have joy when nothing is going your way, because of the Lord.

Third, having joy is both inward and outward. It is something we cultivate in our hearts, but also something we must show others. It takes effort to decide to be joyful on both the inside and outside!

Fourth, joy is something we spread. When you are joyful on purpose for the Lord, it spreads to other people, whether in your family and friends, or complete strangers.

IMG_1488

Amy Charmichael  had this to say, “For a cup brimful of sweet water cannot spill even one drop of bitter water, however suddenly jolted.”

On this first day of spring, I’m purposing to renew my commitment to being joyful!

Will you join me?

2 thoughts on “A Merry Heart

  1. I really like your fourth point about spreading joy. It is easier to think about joy as an internal (only) thing. But true joy cannot be held in or held back. Thanks for the encouragement toward joy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

