Taming the Tongue

“Keep thy tongue from evil, and thy lips from speaking guile.” Psalm 34:13

images

If any man among you seem to be religious, and bridleth not his tongue,

but deceiveth his own heart, this man’s religion is vain” (James 1:26).

images

That tongue, that little rutter for your whole life!

Scripture is pretty clear that your tongue can get you into a heap of trouble.

Mine did recently.

I snipped at my husband, embarrassed him and myself,

and certainly didn’t reflect well on my own testimony.

While I know that’s something that most people wouldn’t tell you,

I’m just keeping things real!

Unfortunately, I learned the hard way that I need to tame my tongue.

In fact, I realized I probably should learn what the Bible has to say

about the tongue and my words.

James says is well when he writes,

“Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things.

Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth!” James 3:5

Several of you all, my readers,

are my mentors when it comes to speaking kind and good words.

It’s certainly an area that could use more work in my life!

Have you messed up with your words lately?

I’d enjoy hearing about what you did to make it right in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “Taming the Tongue

  1. I mess up a lot–this mouth of mine opens and says things before connecting to the brain! Then I need to work on humbleness and asking forgiveness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

