Quilts of Valor Inspiration

I wrote a post several years ago about why I became involved in Quilts of Valor (QOV). Recently, I removed most references to Quilts of Valor on my website for good reasons, not the least of which is general internet safety. Suffice it to say that many readers are still interested in that story…..

Wanting to contribute something during the war years, I came across this photo. I knew how to quilt, but was busy with motherhood and life. The photo credit goes to Getty Images.

bushvetquilt

THIS photo, it inspired me. The soldier is so proud of his quilt, he “wore” it to meet the President. I wanted to make one! A few short clicks later, and I “found” Quilts of Valor. It’s a national organization that aims to cover men and women who have been “touched by war”.

In those days, we lived near a base with an impressive quilt shop nearby. Loving Stitches allowed our group to use their facilities, had fabric donation drives, and promoted the group any way they could. The ladies at Loving Stitches wrote to fabric companies and asked for donation fabric. I can’t really even say enough good things about how this shop gave to us! I will always cherish the ladies of our group and the time making quilts for war wounded.

We were allowed about once a month to award QOV’s. I always came away from that experience humbled and blessed. All that said to say, if you get the opportunity to give away a Quilt of Valor, especially one you took the time to make, DO IT!!! Say the honest, sappy things, like “Thank you”, and “I feel safe because there are men and women like you all.” I always said, “If you don’t make the troops cry, you aren’t doing it right!” Take pictures. Keep them all and enjoy them every few months when life hands you a bad day.

I hope this inspires more people to make quilts for our military. After many years at war, some of our troops could use a fabric hug. And trust me, you’ll get more out of the experience than you could possibly put into it!

2 thoughts on “Quilts of Valor Inspiration

  1. Thank you very much. I haven’t made QOV, but I’ve made a few quilts for our local VA Hospital. My son is in the Air Force (and if all goes right, will be for another 9+ years.) I appreciate the role of our military as never before. Those who give so much deserve a little bit in return. Thanks again.

    Like

  2. Melanie, it blessed my socks off to do something for our troops! Thank *you* for being a good military mom! Please tell you son Thank You for his service from me? I got far more than I gave when I was awarding QOV’s. It really was my pleasure to be able to thank a vet personally! =}

    Like

Leave a Reply

