Stacy’s Scrappy Squares-A Scrap System

I’ve developed a scrap system in the last few months, and I’ve been meaning to tell you about it since this post, back in May. This system turns out to be the best one for me, although I’ll readily admit that there are others like it “out there”.

I’ve used several scrap systems over the course of my quilting life. Several years ago, I tried Bonnie Hunter’s scrap system that uses different sizes of strips. Then more recently, I tried Scrap Therapy, which involves squares and a cool container. My scrap system was inspired by other quilters, as things often are.

This is the scrap bin that I started with in May!

IMG_2067

I chose two sizes of square, 5 inches and 2.5 inches. Almost every scrap quilt I make needs those sizes! They work well with charm and mini charm pack patterns. If you think you’ll use them, 1.5 inch and strings are sometimes useful. If not, life’s too short for quilt guilt….

IMG_2077

I cut my scraps into squares. Wanting to know how this would work for me, I cut a few of each color, and played with the sizes for a few days. I tested it out, which I highly recommend!

IMG_2177

I searched for the right container for my scrap system, and found a wooden box that is just right at Target. It holds all my scraps, and they are neatly organized when I need them.

Scrappic1

What can you make with them? I’m so glad you asked! If you go to Moda Bakeshop, Pinterest, or Google and search “charm pack” or “mini charm pack” patterns, you’ll find more quilts than you can make! You’re welcome to peruse my Pinterest page dedicated to just charm and mini charm patterns, too!

I hope you enjoy this scrap system, and that it works well for you. If not, that’s ok. Maybe you’ll find one that meets your scrap needs! Be on the lookout for patterns here on the blog and on Etsy that play nice with these sizes!

3 thoughts on “Stacy’s Scrappy Squares-A Scrap System

    • Yay! I’m glad the idea helps you! At first, I really didn’t need any scrap management system, and of course I tried several. If my method doesn’t work for you, try one of the others I mentioned or something different!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love having a scrap system and encourage each person to develop one that fits what will work for them. Sometimes I make certain size cuts and fill a container, make the quilt(s) and then will change to a different size cut, thus my system changes over time. Good job for working on yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

