Fall Planning

IMG_2879

Fall is such a natural beginning for us, especially as we think about going back to school and re-establishing routines. Once homeschool schedules are set and well in hand, my mind turns towards fall activates and plans for the home. With holidays right around the corner, I contemplate the different ways to prepare for guests and family memories!

Do you fall clean? My home’s physical space needs a good cleaning twice a year, since we have a full house right now. As I do these chores, I’m reminded that they are important work. Elisabeth Elliot once said, “This job has been given to me to do. Therefore, it is a gift. Therefore, it is a privilege. Therefore, it is an offering I may make to God. Therefore, it is to be done gladly, if it is done for Him. Here, not somewhere else, I may learn God’s way. In this job, not in some other, God looks for faithfulness.” Service to your family done with the heart for God is service to God. House cleaning is a time to be thankful and to enjoy the work the Lord has given us, because the house won’t always need scrubbing, and there will not always be a full house for which to cook and clean!

The days are getting cooler, and the crisp air is moving in. That usually means our minds begin to think about the cold weather. In Proverbs 31, the virtuous woman takes great care to make sure her household is set for winter. This normally includes a mental checklist for me of items like winter bedding, gear, clothing, and shoes. My household also keeps a small winter stock of easy and healthy food options, in case the weather is severe or hinders a trip to buy groceries. It puts my mind at peace, knowing there are healthy food options for sick or overscheduled days!

With holidays inbound, in the fall my thoughts often turn to planning for the next few months. We make an annual trip to see family in December and often entertain during the late fall. My husband and I discuss days off, holiday budgeting, and other pertinent information for the next few months during this time. We consider family activities, plan and budget for them, and look forward to those apple picking or museum going days!

Fall is such a good time for small changes in our home, for cleaning out and for taking stock. Spiritually, I use this fall momentum to think about where the Lord would have me change, too. For me, this process can be like a shuffle, taking out good things, bringing in the best things. This year, I’m seeking a good Bible study and putting away philosophy books. In previous years, the Lord has prompted me to watch less of certain things on tv and do other things instead. This looks different for everyone. After prayer and honest reflection, you’ll know if and what the Lord might want to shuffle in your life!

IMG_2810

I hope you’re enjoying your fall days and the natural renewal this time of year!

2 thoughts on “Fall Planning

  1. Thanks for the reminder to take stock of what is going on in my life and what should be going on in my life! May God direct you as you plan and prepare. In a future blog, I would be interested to see a list of food you keep on hand for winter emergencies and perhaps a list of the recipes that accompany the shelve-able food.

    Like

Leave a Reply

