The “At-Home” Facial

I have a beauty routine that is short and sweet, no frills. My skin is super sensitive, so I stay miles away from heavily scented products. My skin is no respecter of labels, either, as both drug store and department store makeup will give me fits. Along the way, I’ve found a natural skin care routine that is the perfect trifecta-easy, inexpensive, and effective. About once a quarter I take about an hour’s down time and give myself an at home facial. As long as your children don’t mind a mud masked face, you can do this without hiring a sitter! Win!

  1. Exfoliate. Baking Soda is my go-to exfoliant. You may choose to use a simple face scrub, a salon quality rub, or a face puff. I like baking soda because it has no added chemicals and it whitens and brightens my facial skin. I don’t use this any other time than my facial, though, because it can dry the skin on the face too much when used alone.
  2. Steam. Once your face is clean and scrubbed of oils and dirt, steam your face over a pot of hot water. Heat up the water, adding in whatever herbs or essential oils work best on your face. Again, I keep mine scent-free. Once you take the pot off the stove, cover your head with a towel like a tent and let the steam work its magic on your face for 7-8 minutes. Be prepared (with tissues) to have this step clean out your sinuses, too! Kind of a double bonus! Dry your face, and you’re ready for the next step.
  3. Mask. I make a simple mask of a small amount of bentonite clay, honey, and milk. You could add other things, like essential oils and herb infused water, if it suits your skin type. There are other at home masks you can make with an egg base, if you don’t have bentonite clay on hand. I let this sit for 30 minutes, while sipping some water or herbal tea!
  4. Moisturize. Use your favorite moisturizer once you wash off the mask. I like a simple Grapeseed Oil, which of course is very nourishing and natural. Use what already works for your skin type, though!

I hope this simple breakdown of a “at home” facial encourages you to think about taking care of your skin in a stressful time of year! Wouldn’t it be lovely to have glowing skin for the holidays?

Happy Spa-ing!

One thought on “The “At-Home” Facial

Leave a Reply

