Sewing Farmer’s Wife 1930’s

When I came back after my break from quilting this summer, I had about five projects going at once. I was able to quickly finish four of the projects, but the one left is my Farmer’s Wife 1930’s quilt. It’s quite large, so I’ve known from day one that it would be a long term project. There are 126, tiny 6 inch blocks needed to make this beauty, and I have 57 right now. That’s no small number, so I’m encouraged to keep going! I like to take one block and use it for display.

img_3629

Magnolia is my favorite block, which has nothing to do with the block or the story. It has everything to do with a different story that came out in the 80’s called Steel Magnolias. If you’ve seen it, and you’re a southern lady, you know exactly what I mean when I say that Magnolia is an encouragement to me. Life can throw some pretty tough stuff at us. But the Lord takes care of us, and causes us to be “trees planted by the water” (magnolia trees, if you will) for our families and friends. (Jeremiah 17:8)

I hope y’all are having an awesome week!

 

Leave a Reply

