Frugal Soap Dish

img_3725

Many of you will remember this pedestal, which was made by gluing a candlestick to a lovely clear glass dish. To be fair, I should have looked up the value of said dish, because it is worth more than I paid. However, E6000 is not easily undone, so I’m not crying over spilled milk. Today, I wanted to show you a gift idea that might be good for upcoming holidays or birthdays.

First, find a thrift shop that sells glass. I like my local Goodwill because the prices are great! You’re looking for a pretty plate/dish and a candle holder. Please don’t pay more than a dollar for the candlestick unless it is a fancy one. Dollar Tree sells plain candle holders and plates, so don’t consider yourself out of luck if your thrift or yard sale adventures don’t produce the things you need. E6000 can be found at many craft stores, at which you should always use a coupon. They all take their competitors’ coupons, too. From here, it’s just a matter of following the directions on the E6000 tube. You should always do this in a well ventilated area!

Next I went to TJ Maxx and found awesome soaps. These are the French, triple milled lovely ones that you really want, and TJ Maxx sells them about half the price of any other store I’ve found. My cost for this lovely arrangement was somewhere around ten dollars!!

Leave a Reply

