Thrift-Tucking Away Gifts

“Save for a rainy day. It’s not if but when. It will rain, and you will need it.”

One of the basic tenants of money management is a growing and thriving savings account. My parents taught me very young to use money wisely, and when money came in, to tithe, save, then spend. To their credit, I was able to save a tidy sum from my minimum wage job, and be extremely helpful in those first (very broke) months of marriage.

Fast forward many years, and now I find that saving doesn’t always involve just funds. Many times, savings as a home manager involves other areas as well. I’ve found that I need to stock up on useful and lovely gifts for Christmas and birthday seasons.

images-6

I don’t mean to alarm you, but there are only a few weeks left until Christmas! This is the time to begin tucking away gifts, much like a savings account. If you’re able to shop while you’re doing normal errands, that will save you gas, time, and energy! I promise this isn’t an indictment against last minute shopping, but I find myself so very much happier in December if my last minute is confined to the minutiae.

Make your lists, start checking off items, and find yourself some time to enjoy the advent season. You’re putting into a savings account, and you may find you need every bit of the time, energy, and money you’re saving by shopping early.

Are you a last minute Lucy? Or are you already done? Leave me a comment and tell me about your Christmas shopping habits! 

 

One thought on “Thrift-Tucking Away Gifts

  1. I do love to think of appropriate gifts for friends and family; thinking is half the battle. Like you, I am “alarmed” that Christmas is just around the corner. And I only have one gift for mother-in-law on the gift shelf in the closet. Gotta get busy! Picking up items during regular, weekly shopping forays is a great suggestion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

