Perfumery

When I travel, I like to travel light. REALLY light, like very few liquids. I have the need for some really amazing scents, at the same time. (Who wants to go without perfume just to travel light?) This brought me to the idea the other day of solid perfume, and realizing that I had all the necessary items on hand. I tweaked an online recipe, changing out odd ingredients for more common ones that I had on hand. I hope you enjoy the recipe, because I found it to be so much fun!

img_20161211_130354.jpg

Solid Perfume Basic Recipe

1 teaspoon of beeswax pellets (Amazon, Bulk Herb Store, craft store)

1 teaspoon of coconut oil (grocery or discount stores)

1/4 teaspoon olive oil

10-15 drops of scent (see scent blends below)

A basic container, ice tray, small jar, travel jar, etc.

Melt your beeswax, double boiler method with water in your lower pot at medium heat and waxes in a tempered glass measuring cup or any smallish pan. When the beeswax is almost melted, add the other two oils. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly. (The base mixture should be warm but not hot to the touch.) Add your fragrance or essential oils at this point, and then pour quickly into desired containers. I like a variety of vessels, to include mirror compacts, lockets, ice cube trays, sugar or chocolate molds,and tiny jars or different sizes and weights. The ultimate weightless travel option is ice cube trays, because when the perfume cools, it can be popped out and stored in a tiny zip top bag. Also, you can use crayon shavings to tint the perfume, although I found that unnecessary. I might do that in the future as a method of labeling the different blends!

img_20161211_170030.jpg

Now for scent blends (the fun part)! Take time to figure out what three scents from your essential oil collection or an online catalog will work well for you. If you tend to like a musk, go for something with warmer notes, and add vanilla or something light to compliment. If you’re at a complete loss for scent blends, it’s perfectly acceptable to either buy a fragrance blend already made, or use commercial perfume. This is a good way to use those perfume sample vials. If you’re mixing your own, take a little time before you make solid perfume to mix your blend and see if it does smell like you prefer. Test it on your skin, too, as it will mingle with your own natural scent. I didn’t start my solid perfume making until I was sure I would like the resulting bar!

 

Leave a Reply

