So Occupied

“Methinks it is a token of healthy and gentle characteristics, when women of high thoughts and accomplishments love to sew; especially as they are never more at home with their own hearts than while so occupied.”

~ Hawthorne

Sewing. I hope the art isn’t dying. In fact, I’m teaching my girls to sew just to prevent that from happening! Often when we are occupied with sewing, all the other pressures of life fall away. I am “never more at home” and more contented than when I have time to unsnarl all the thoughts of the day, while putting fabric through a sewing machine or plying my needle. While other crafts are exciting and new, sewing is an ancient art. It is a skill passed down from my mother and from her mother, and then her grandmother before that. It is history in creative form!

I hope you enjoy this quote, and have occasion to think about it now and then. I’m considering printing it out for my planner!

One thought on “So Occupied

Leave a Reply

