Donation Bin Drab to Fab

Donation Bins.

They are the best friend and worst enemy of charity programs across the globe. What a treasure trove of cast off fabrics, a holding tank for possibilities! Only, they are heavy, clunky, and miserable to tote around. They require storage above and beyond the unfortunate quilter’s own fabric stash! While heading a QOV group, I can honestly say that managing donation fabric was both interesting and sometimes weighty, in more ways that one! With that in mind, I visited my new guild’s charity donation table last night. I was looking for anything that would inspire or match other things there! The two baby prints spoke to me beneath a mound of other things.

img_20170110_084009.jpg

With a few other “found” yellows and pinks, I was well on my way to a proper fabric pull!

I knew hidden in my stash were just the right complimentary green fabrics for this set.

img_20170110_084058.jpg

Now, isn’t that a lovely baby quilt beginning? I hope this inspires you to not be afraid of donation bins! They can be a fun challenge for the one making the quilt. As an added bonus, you will certainly make the manager of that donation bin quite happy to see the fabric used!

One thought on “Donation Bin Drab to Fab

Leave a Reply

