Power Outage

The Lord has a funny way of changing our perspectives and priorities! Last night, we were without power for several hours. With no internet or phone beeps to distract me, I was able to accomplish far more than I expected.

candle_in_the_dark_by_psinco2-d4ojmw4

At first, I wondered what I would do with the evening, but small tasks came to mind. I worked on dishes and laundry, taking out trash and putting plenty of things back into their proper places. As I worked, I contemplated how easy and satisfying each task was, and how calm it felt to know I had plenty of time to accomplish the chores.

We lose the joy of homemaking sometimes. I think I found mine again, simply by working with no distractions. I’m encouraged to live that way more often, not just when the power is out!

Leave a Reply

