Breaking Up with Minimalism

Minimalism. What does it mean to you?

I’ve struggled with minimalism. If you haven’t been reading the blog long, you aren’t aware that at one point, I wanted a tiny house. I’ve cleaned out my home more Januaries than I can count. Last year, it was the Marie Kondo method. Before that it was other authors, other methods, other criteria for getting rid of stuff.

There’s only one problem with all that theory. There’s still a focus on stuff. Not a healthy, “put stuff back where it belongs because we don’t live in a barn” focus, either. Somehow minimalism in my mind, and I think maybe others, too, has become this unattainable low number of belongings. It’s become all about 33 clothing items, 100 things, sparse closets, nothing sentimental kept.

So, I’m breaking up with minimalism. I’m resolving to keep a clean home, to keep what we need and use, and not keep what we don’t. I’m not donating items that I keep for sentimental reasons, nor will I be purging my closet every few months. From now on, it won’t be a huge ordeal to go through closets and rooms that might need a little decluttering. I want to do this as I clean my home each week, not in one large fell swoop that never accomplishes anything lasting!

Do you do huge decluttering sessions? Or maybe, like me, you were disillusioned by an idea that doesn’t really work? I’d love to hear about it in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Breaking Up with Minimalism

  1. We are in the process of moving our belongings from a storage warehouse into our new home. Hubby and I are purposing not to bring anything into the house that we don’t want, use, or need. That being said, it is a little crazy that we have enough photo albums to fill an entire entertainment center. The albums have sentimental value and must be preserved in a climate controlled environment even though we don’t look at them every day. I suppose the point is to strike a doable balance between minimalism and clutter-y stuff.

    Like

  2. I am slowly going through things that we don’t use and will donate them so that others can use them. I think keeping things we use works best for us.

    Like

  3. I agree – a balance is good. I have a giveaway stash that I use as I see things I no longer need or want, Once in the stash, it stays for a while, and I can change my mind, Mostly, once an item reaches the giveaway stage, it goes,

    Like

Leave a Reply

