Hope Thou in God

I listen, and I listen some more. I see the hurt in her eyes, and the pain this divorce is causing her. She’s a young woman, but old enough to realize that words and actions have consequences. She has children, and her own struggle and hurt is reflected in their eyes.

What has caused her this deep hurt? Was it her own actions? Her husband’s fault entirely? Honestly, I know from experience that no argument is entirely one sided. No disagreement, pouting, hurt feelings, etc can’t be take to the Lord Almighty. None of those things are immune from forgiveness needed. On both parts. And from God.

I can’t help but do a gut check when I hear “so and so is getting a divorce”. Every single time. I check the health of my marriage mentally, and wonder, “Did she know this was coming? Was there a warning sign? Was this in response to infidelity? Was there a last straw? Did she know?”

And then I’m reminded….

The Almighty can heal what’s been hurt. He can mend what’s broken in a marriage. There is no point at which it is too late for Him. I don’t know where you are, my reader, right now with your own marriage. However, I know that the Lord is glorified in healing the hurts. It’s sort of His thing, you know! Over and over, I give Him the mess of my own making, my own broken pieces, and He heals them better than I could even imagine. There is a security and safety in giving my marriage to God, the Creator of the Universe!

“Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted in me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.” Psalm 42:5

3 thoughts on “Hope Thou in God

Leave a Reply

