Debating the Farmer’s Wife 1930’s Quilt

One of the quilts I started (and did not finish) last year was The Farmer’s Wife 1930’s Sampler Quilt! Here’s one of my favorite blocks, #54 Magnolia.

IMG_20170707_110622_602

Most of my blocks thus far, a whopping 65, came from The Farmer’s Wife 1930’s Sampler book. However, some of them came from the other books pictured. There seems to be a rash of new books out that feature the small six inch block right now, and I’m taking full advantage, because tiny is cute!

The debate comes in with what I’ll be doing now with this project. I am not one to let a quilt sit half finished for years on end. An idea or sketch, maybe, but not fabric that is cut and sewn! I am debating whether or not to finish the king size I had planned, or use 64 blocks to make an 8 by 8 setting with some pretty borders! On one hand, I’d be quitting on the larger setting idea, but on the other, I get a finished quilt!

Perhaps part of my struggle is the intended use of this quilt. A King sized quilt would be intended for use on a bed. However, when I think of bed quilts that are actually used, I think of things that are less complicated piecing, and darker colors. I rarely put white fabric into a quilt that will actually be used on our beds. Is that being too practical?

These blocks are complicated piecing, for which I am very thankful. I feel as though my skills grew exponentially as I made each tiny block. My question to myself is whether I am willing to continue making very hard, small blocks or make a few more of the ones I particularly liked, or maybe be done!

Honestly, I’ll have to let you know what path I eventually will take. Perhaps another seven blocks, and then I will decide what to do with 72 blocks? An even 8 by 9 grid, or a unique setting…..we’ll see!

Have you ever been stuck at an impasse with a project? What was it, and how did you finish the project?

Leave a Reply

