Quilting

Permission to Quilt

I started a new quilt! In fact, I gave myself permission to start something new! A few weeks ago, here on the blog, I talked about finishing my few ongoing quilts. There are a variety of reasons why those five quilts aren’t finished just yet. I promise I’m thinking about them to get over the parts where I’m stuck!

I’m definitely not stuck on this relatively easy quilt block. It’s called a Bento Box quilt, and I just adapted it to the jelly roll I had on hand. The jelly roll (American Dream by Dani Mogstad) is a pretty one, with plenty of florals and some stars and plaid thrown in. I needed to supplement the background fabrics with a few 2 1/2-inch-wide strips from my stash, but that’s ok. I wanted enough contrast on the blocks. I haven’t decided how they will be set just yet, because I’m not finished with the blocks.

This quilt has grown quickly, since I’m averaging about two block per day. Each day I cut for the next day’s block construction, too. I only need twenty blocks, and they will be done soon! I have a guild workday coming up, so I wonder if I’ll be done with blocks enough to set them at workday. Maybe!?

This quilt reminds me of when my kids were small, and we took them to play mini golf. Because there were six of us and some were small children, it took us a while to take our turns. We often let others on the course “play through”, meaning they could go ahead of us. This quilt is playing through with the other quilt projects that are being slow to finish! We’ll talk more about those stuck projects in another post!

I hope you all are well. I hope you give yourself permissions to do things you enjoy without too many stickler rules. I think it’s good to be productive, but also to enjoy our tasks!

Leave a comment