Quilting

Binding a Quilt for a Veteran

I spent part of the past weekend working on a quilt for a veteran. These become tangible evidence of our appreciate to the soldiers and airmen and marines who have sacrificed their safety to protect mine.

I work with an organization whose name and logo are heavily copyrighted on social media outlets, including blogs like this one! I’m sure many of you know to whom I am referring. I’ll have to leave it at this. The quilt is going to someone whose life was changed by a part played in a US war.

I’ve been quilting for quite a few years. I won’t date myself, but it was early marriage when I learned to quilt from a book. My Doc was at work until very late in the evening, and instead of getting into all manner of trouble, I learned to quilt! Little did I know, it’s a consuming kind of hobby, and sometimes it takes over! (Different kind of trouble!) I have more quilts than my family is ever going to want! I have a rather full linen closet, along with several quilts on each bed. We’re good on quilts!

Making new quilts seems a little redundant, although I love to learn new techniques. However, making a quilt to give away to a deserving veteran is another story! I enjoy doing it, and it gives me the opportunity to give back to my community. So I bound a quilt over the weekend that is mostly blue and white! The quilter did such a good job quilting stars and loops on it, and I enjoyed putting those last stitches into a quilt given with much heartfelt appreciation!

Leave a comment