Quilting

Frugal Friday-Baking Day

Happy Friday, and welcome to another Frugal Friday post! This week, we’re talking all about food!

Usually, I reserve Friday for sewing or catching up around the house. Sometimes both! (I sew while the laundry or dishes are running.) Last Friday was a baking day! On these days, I tend to make a small snack for my family for that day, the brownies in this picture, and a larger batch of something else to put away. I made scones to put into the freezer!

This small, usually fun chore is useful in several ways. Scones are versatile in that they can be consumed for breakfast or teatime snacks. They can be an accompaniment to a light lunch or in a lunch box, as they keep rather well too. I packaged them into half rounds, or four small scones per bag, which is just the right amount for two to eat in one sitting. Then they went into the freezer. A quick reheat in the microwave, and they are ready for teatime or whenever!

While the oven was on, I baked the scones and the brownies at the same time. This saves me energy costs by heating the oven only once. I try to use this tactic while dinner cooks or I’m baking. I make all the scones up before I turn on the oven, thus the oven is not just running while it waits on me. A scone recipe calls for a bit of quick kneading and cutting into wedge shapes, so having everything ready to go into the oven is a money saver!

In the past, I’ve applied this same concept to other meals or foods. I’ve made lasagna in aluminum pans to tuck into the freezer. This removes the temptation to order an expensive take-out option when the day gets away from me. Most of the time, I cook extra meat while I’m cooking. For example, I brown extra hamburger meat when I’m browning it. In this way, I’m able to put back a few things into the freezer or fridge that are what I call “meal starters”. It becomes easy to put together spaghetti, pizza, or chicken casserole if the meat is already cooked. When I’m pressed for time or energy, these tactics keep me from eating out!

Another non-eating out strategy comes from making good meals at home. It’s worth taking time to learn new recipes if your family likes a certain restaurant or food. For example, my family likes burgers. We spend a little at the grocery store to be sure that we have the condiments and sides the family prefers, and I try to make the best burgers in town! Many, many restaurants have copycat recipes on Pinterest or elsewhere on the internet. We buy nice coffee for this reason. It’s far less expensive to buy a good bag of coffee and make it at home, than to buy premade coffee every day. We prefer to make our mocha at home!

By making or baking most of your own foods, you can save a ton of money. Prepackaged foods are very, very expensive these days. I buy a mix of prepackaged foods and ingredients but am often looking for ways to make things myself. I walk through the bakery section of my grocery store and think, “can I make this?” It sure helps with wanting those bakery items but not wanting to spend the money on them. Besides, nothing beats a hot bakery item from home!

I’m sure, like me, you’re looking for ways to cut the grocery bill. I hope these tips helps you on that front, and that you’re able to afford food for your family. In fact, I pray for our nation, that our people can afford to eat. Will you join me in praying for our nation and economy? Have a wonderful weekend!

Stacy

Leave a comment